Merry Christmas

Tonight in our house we celebrate the birth of Jesus. And like the eve of my own children’s births, I am NOT ready.

But it doesn’t matter what I have done or what still needs to be done, Christmas is going to happen. We will sit together this evening and drink hot chocolate from the special dishes my mom gave us years ago. Hubby will still read The Night Before Christmas. The kids will snuggle into their new jammies and resist going to bed. And I will stay up too late so I can tuck a few things into stockings thinking the kids can’t hear me up and about.

This has been a long, lonely, and difficult couple of years for all of us but there is a light and it’s getting brighter. Maybe it’s the Christmas star…or a future Christmas star….showing me that better days are ahead. Days when people won’t be afraid to gather to celebrate all the important things that are happening in their lives. Days when we won’t argue over things that don’t really matter. Days when our home will be filled the kids friends.

So, this evening when things are not quite ready or tomorrow after Santa has been here and there’s a mess in the living room or any time for that matter; our door is always open for anyone that wants to pop over for a chat, a cup of something, a rant or rave, or just to sit and do nothing. Just mind the icy driveway in the winter and ignore the chickens, they think everyone wants to feed.

Merry Christmas to all. xo

Leave a comment